160 Year Logo for Web

Congregation Emanuel of the Hudson Valley

What a Jewish Community Can Be

A welcoming and giving reform congregation committed to social justice, on-going learning, vibrant spirituality, diversity and the State of Israel
Yom Rishon, 4 Tishri 5778


Temple Emanuel of Kingston, NY's History:

In 1853, fourteen Ashkenazi Jewish families from the Kingston area began to hold Orthodox religious services at Alexander Adler's home, in the Village of Rondout, NY.   In a hand written document, Congregation Emanuel was legally incorporated in 1854, making it one of the oldest Jewish congregations in the Hudson Valley.  As the congregation grew, a Rabbi was employed and, in 1861, a former Baptist Church on the corner of West Union and Post Street was purchased for worship.

By the early 1890's, Rabbi David Wolff, who led the congregation from 1865-1896, and other members became interested in a more liberal outlook and joined the Union of American Hebrew Congregations, now the URJ.  In 1892, a new Temple Emanuel building was dedicated in the Kingston Rondout, on Abeel Street, with great pomp by Rabbi Gottheil of Temple Emanu-El in Manhattan.  Finally, in 1959, after three years of planning and building guided by Rabbi Herbert Bloom, who served from 1933-1965, Temple Emanuel moved to its present site on Albany Avenue.  Rabbi Jonathan Eichhorn presided following Rabbi Bloom in 1965 and retired in 2001.  Rabbi Yael Romer became our present spiritual leader in July of 2001.


The Rabbi's Who Have Served Temple Emanuel

Rabbi Silver  1853-1856, Rabbi Isaac Isaacs 1857-1861, no Rabbi 1861-1865, Rabbi David Wolff 1865-1896, Rabbi Bendit Grad 1897-1899, Rabbi Joseph Moses 1899-1901, Rabbi Joseph Leiser 1902-1908, Rabbi M.L. Handman 1908-1910, Rabbi N. Micknick 1910, Rabbi D.H. Wittenberg 1911-1912, Rabbi M. Eckstein 1912-1916, Rabbi A. Rosenberg 1916-1918, Rabbi L. Brav 1918-1920, Rabbi Bernard M. Kaplan 1920-1923, Rabbi M. Rose 1923-1929, Rabbi Lefkowitz 1929, Rabbi Shultz 1930, Rabbi Victor Eppstein 1932-1933, Rabbi Herbert Bloom 1933-1965, Rabbi Jonathan Eichhorn 1965-2001, Rabbi Yael Romer 2001-current.